Black Grouper swimming

State Regulations

NOAA Fisheries' Southeast Regional office is responsible for the conservation, management, and protection of marine fishery resources inhabiting federal waters off the southeastern United States from North Carolina through Texas and Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.  Federal waters consist of the waters extending from the state water boundary to 200 nautical miles.  State waters extend from the shoreline to 9 nautical miles for Texas and the west coast of Florida and 3 nautical miles for Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and the east coast of Florida.

Below are links to the fishing regulations for each state's local waters.

For more information about fishing regulations in federal waters, contact the Southeast Region's Sustainable Fisheries Division at: (727) 824-5305.  

Gulf of MexicoSouth AtlanticU.S. Caribbean








North Carolina

South Carolina




Puerto Rico

U.S. Virgin Islands